Happy New Year!

2016 has been an important year for us – LNUC Concurrences has finished its first 5 year period, and have also received funding for a new one, this as a result of an evaluation where the Center was praised as a highly ranked international postcolonial research environment.

We can all be very proud of this and the work done so far! The evaluation documents were discussed at a workshop at Warwick University, where goals and strategies for the next five years were outlined, and where the new managing team was presented. We wish them good luck and are convinced that they will continue to develop the Center in a very good way.
Apart from the evaluation and the new founding, a lot of important things have happened during the year, which is of great importance for the Center. Members of the Center have received funding from Kamprad, The Swedish Research Council and other foundations, and the postdoc position that was announced in the beginning of the year got more than sixty applicants, most of them international and well qualified. The summer school for doctoral students, which was arranged in August, also attracted mostly international participants. This says something about how internationally recognized the Center has become and about the high quality of its work. An important factor in the development of the Center during the whole first period, has been the recruitment of highly ranked scholars. This work has continued also this year, and we are happy that two of these now are regular members of the Center. Many more things could be mentioned which have happened in 2016, such as important publications, interesting workshops and seminars, guest researchers who have contributed to the theoretical and methodological development and so on, but to avoid a too long list, we summarize ...

LNUC Concurrences has achieved a lot of the goals that were formulated when it was established in 2012. With this and all its qualities and strengths, we can all happily look forward to 2017 and the coming five years!

Gurminder Bhambra, Peter Forsgren & Åse Magnusson