on campus

Linnaeus University's management takes shape – deans and pro-deans appointed

The work to appoint Linnaeus University's management for the next four years has been going on since the start of 2020 and now vice-chancellor Peter Aronsson has appointed six deans and two pro-deans.

In the beginning of 2020, Linnaeus University made a joint announcement of five assignments as dean and pro-dean for the period 2021-2025. In addition to the dean's assignment as top management for the faculty, the dean has an important role in Linnaeus University's management and in the work of a joint management group, which a joint recruitment process will strengthen.

“It is very pleasing to see that we, through these decisions, as from January, have deans in place for all faculties and a well-composed, renewed, and knowledgeable management group for the whole university. In consultation with deans and nomination groups, the work will now continue to appoint pro-deans”, says Peter Aronsson, vice-chancellor.

The term of office for the dean commissions is 1 January 2021 until 31 December 2024 at the longest, except for Hans Sternudd’s commission, which covers two years. Hanna Palmér’s commission as acting dean applies for 2021. Daniel Alvunger’s commission as acting dean applies for the first half of 2021. The appointments were discussed at co-determination negotiations earlier this week.

As from 1 January 2021, the following persons will be part of Linnaeus University's management and faculty management:

  • School of Business and Economics: Susanne Ackum, dean
  • Faculty of Health and Life Sciences: Ian Nicholls, dean
  • Faculty of Arts and Humanities: Hans Sternudd: dean
  • Faculty of Social Sciences: Daniel Alvunger, pro-dean and acting dean
  • Faculty of Technology: Jesper Andersson, dean, Åsa Rydell Blom, pro-dean
  • The Board of Teacher Education: Hanna Palmér, pro-dean and acting dean

During 2020, Daniel Alvunger has had the role of dean at The Board of Teacher Education with Hanna Palmér as pro-dean. As from 1 January 2021, Daniel Alvunger will have the role as acting dean at the Faculty of Social Sciences. As a result of this, Hanna Palmér will take on the role as acting dean at The Board of Teacher Education.

The appointments were discussed at co-determination negotiations on 15 December 2020 and the vice-chancellor will meet members of staff at the faculties on 15 December to inform about the continued process.